Seven are in line for the presidential chair.

  1. Home
  2. Breaking News
  3. Article detail
Seven are in line for the presidential chair.

As the heat of the presidential election is increasing day by day, the number of candidates who have decided to run for that election has also increased to 7.

President Ranil Wickremesinghe, Samagi Jana Balavega leader opposition leader Sajith Premadasa, National Jana Balavega leader Anura Kumara Dissanayake, Mawbima Janata Party leader entrepreneur Dilith Jayaweera, former Sports Minister Roshan Ranasinghe for the National Democratic Front, Sri Lanka Public Utilities have decided to run for the presidential election. The former chairman of the commission is entrepreneur Janaka Ratnayake and the grandson of former president JR Jayawardena Ishan Jayawardena.

Meanwhile, the acting president of Sri Lanka Freedom Party, the Minister of Judicial Prison Affairs and Constitutional Reform, Dr. Wijayadasa Rajapaksa, has recently requested that the party also run for the presidential election.

Minister Wijayadasa Rajapaksa, who commented on this matter, told Lankadeepa yesterday that he will announce his decision regarding the request in the next few weeks.

The presidential candidate of the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna has not yet been decided. In this regard, when we asked the General Secretary of the party, Mr. Advocate Sagara Kariyawasam, he said that the power to decide who the president is has been handed over to the leader of the party, former President Mahinda Rajapaksa.

Meanwhile, sources say that the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna’s presidential candidate will be announced at the party’s May Day rally.

More candidates are going to join in the future for the presidential election. According to political sources, this is the first time that the largest number of candidates will be presented for a presidential election.

Lanka Headline

Author Since: April 23, 2024

Leave Your Comment